Audiophile Masters Volume I On Vinyl LP by Octave Records

–  Octave’s Audiophile Masters Volume I on Vinyl LP is a reference-quality compilation release including solo piano, jazz, classical, pop, and more –

Boulder, Colorado, April 5, 2022 – PS Audio’s Octave Records announces a limited-edition vinyl LP of its Audiophile Masters, Volume I reference-quality compilation album. The disc features 10 previously released tracks by a variety of Octave Records and other artists including pianist Don Grusin, trumpeter Gabriel Mervine, pop/female vocal group Clandestine Amigo and acoustic guitarist Bill Kopper, plus classical works by Mozart, Schumann and more.
The vinyl LP release is available in a limited, numbered edition of 500 copies at a suggested retail price of $59 each.
The selections on Audiophile Masters, Volume I was recorded in pure DSD using the high-resolution Sonoma recording system. It was recorded and mastered at Animal Lane, PS Audio, and Moose Sound LLA studios using the Sonoma recording system and Octave Records’ exclusive DSDDirect Mastered 192kHz/24-bit process.
Audiophile Masters, Volume I is pressed on 180-gram virgin vinyl using the highest-quality Neotech vinyl compound, NiPro Optics electroplating, and GrooveCoated stampers from Gotta Groove Records. State-of-the-art temperature control is maintained during the manufacturing process using a closed-loop heating system. Each record is scrupulously hand-inspected and listening tests are conducted to ensure the ultimate in pressing quality.
Paul McGowan, PS Audio CEO noted, “Our Audiophile Masters series has become increasingly popular since its inception, and with the release of Volume I, analog enthusiasts can now enjoy the series’ musical diversity and exceptional sound, in an LP that also serves as a reference tool for optimizing an audio system’s setup.”
In addition to the LP, the album is offered as a download bundle including DSD64, 192kHz/24-bit, 96kHz/24-bit, and 44.1kHz/24-bit PCM formats (SRP: $29). Ordering information for the download bundle is available from at this link.
“Modern Art” by Bill Kopper leads off Audiophile Masters, Volume I with intimately-recorded piano, acoustic bass, drums, and percussion, and the acoustic guitar duet of “The Hitchhiker,” with Taylor Sims and Kyle Donovan, captures every nuance of both players’ instruments in exquisite detail and harmonic richness. Don Grusin’s solo piano piece, “Willow Dance,” is a stunning rendition of what a real grand piano sounds like, as played by a master.  “Saffron” offers superb dynamics, depth, and tonal color. Female vocals are naturally conveyed in tracks like Clandestine Amigo’s “Flying Blind” and Clara Schumann’s “Sechs Lieder, Op. 23, No. 1 Was weinst du, Blümlein,” featuring vocalist Ekaterina Kotcherguina. Additional tracks include string quartet, trumpeter Gabriel Mervin’s jazz ensemble, Carl Dixon’s percussion workout “Tambores de Natureza” and more.

The tracklisting for Audiophile Masters Volume I is as follows:

  1. Modern Art – Bill Kopper
  2. The Hitchhiker – Taylor Sims and Kyle Donovan
  3. Willow Dance – Don Grusin
  4. Feels – Gabriel Mervine
  5. Saffron – From Color of Sound
  6. Sechs Lieder, Op. 23, No. 1 Was weinst du, Blümlein – Clara Schumann
  7. Terra de Milagros – Bill Kopper
  8. Flying Blind – Clandestine Amigo
  9. Tambores de Natureza – Carl Dixon 
  10. Milanese Quartet No. 6 in B flat Major, K. 159, Second Movement – W.A. Mozart

Click here to order the vinyl LP of Audiophile Masters, Volume I. In addition, volumes I through V in the series are available from Octave Records at this link.
If you’re a member of the media and would like a review copy of Audiophile Masters Volume I, please contact Frank Doris at or 631-645-5668.


Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.