Octave Records Audiophile Masters Volume VI

Octave Records Audiophile Masters Volume VI offers an eclectic selection of pop, rock, classical, Americana, and more, in exceptional DSD and SACD sound on newly-available premium gold discs –

Boulder, Colorado, May 27, 2022 – PS Audio’s Octave Records has expanded its series of reference-quality music-sampler discs with the release of Audiophile Masters, Volume VI. The compilation offers an eclectic selection of music by a diverse group of artists, including flamenco guitarist Miguel Espinoza, the Avant-jazz Seth Lewis Quintet, the classical piano, and vocal group Duo Azure, plus a strong selection of rock, pop and Americana, and other not-so-categorizable music.
Audiophile Masters, Volume VI (SRP: $29) features Octave’s newly-available premium gold disc formulation and is playable on any SACD, CD, DVD, or Blu-ray player. It also has a high-resolution DSD layer that is accessible by using any SACD player, a PS Audio SACD transport, or by copying the DSD tracks on the included DVD data discs.

In addition, the master DSD and PCM files are available for purchase and download (including DSD64, DSDDirect Mastered 192kHz/24-bit, 96kHz/24-bit, and 44.1kHz/16-bit PCM), along with Octave’s newest addition, 24-karat gold CDs at standard resolution. These CDs have been cut directly off the DSD master using BitPerfect’s state-of-the-art Zephiir filter.

Audiophile Masters, Vol. VI was recorded and mixed by Steven Vidaic, Jay Elliott, Gus Skinas, and Zach Balch, with Giselle Collazo as assistant engineer. The recording was mastered by Gus Skinas. Octave Records’ Jessica Carson was the executive producer.
All the tracks were recorded at Animal Lane Studios in Lyons, Colorado, using Octave Records’ Pure DSD process and the Sonoma multi-track DSD recording system.

Paul McGowan, PS Audio CEO, noted, “Like every album in Octave Records’ Audiophile Masters series, Volume VI offers a wide-ranging palette of musical styles and sounds, from up-close and intimate to expansive and dynamic. As always, although the sound is reference-quality and will tell you what your system is doing, the music and the artistry of the performers come first.”
The album kicks off with a flourish, with Miguel Espinoza’s dazzling “Journey Home,” featuring flamenco guitar, cello, bass, and percussion. The Seth Lewis Quintet navigates through harmonic twists and turns with the contemporary jazz of “Dream-Theme.”

There’s plenty of pop, country, and Americana courtesy of Bonnie and Taylor Sims’ contemplative “Sleep,” Dylan McCarthy’s bluegrass workout “Marigold,” the piano- and vocal-driven title track from Clandestine Amigo’s Things Worth Remembering album, and the irresistible funk/rock/pop “Drug of Choice” from Dechen Hawk. Duo Azure offers “Liederkreis, Op. 39, no 6 – Schöne Fremde,” a beautiful classical piece for piano and voice. Additional selections from accordionist/vocalist Alicia Jo Straka, singer/songwriter Monica Marie LaBonte, and the marimba/handpans duo More Than Physics round out the album with the ethereal “Why We Fell In Love.”

The tracklisting for Audiophile Masters, Volume VI is as follows:

  1. “Journey Home” – Miguel Espinoza
  2. “Ménilmontant” – Alicia Jo Straka
  3. “Dream Theme” – Seth Lewis Quintet
  4. “Sleep” – Bonnie and Taylor Sims
  5. “Marigold” – Dylan McCarthy
  6. “River Song” – Monica Marie LaBonte
  7. “Drug of Choice” – Dechen Hawk
  8. “Liederkreis, Op. 39, no 6 – Schöne Fremde” – Duo Azure
  9. “Why We Fell in Love” – More Than Physics
  10. “Things Worth Remembering” – Clandestine Amigo

Click here to order Audiophile Masters, Volume VI, available in a limited edition of 1,000. The Audiophile Masters, Volume I SACD/CD set is sold out and is now available on vinyl or as a download bundle only. Audiophile Masters, Volume V,  Audiophile Masters, Volume IV, Audiophile Masters, Volume III, and Audiophile Masters, Volume II are available on disc and as a download.

Please contact Frank Doris at frank@psaudio.com or 631-645-5668.


Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.